Still Truckin’

Its been a busy few days around here, but we’re still going strong.  We’ve completed most of our Lake Hoare survey work, drilled some ice holes and installed a couple new components on our datalogger.  Its all a bit more work than it sounds like (except maybe the surveying).  This past Sunday I hiked up to the top of Andrews Ridge (elevation 400m) for some sightseeing.  It was definitely worth the 1.5 hour climb.  From the top I could see seven glaciers flowing into Taylor Valley!  On my route back I stumbled upon two mummified/decomposing seals, thus completing my collection of dead wildlife pictures.  I know it sounds kind of morbid, but its really interesting to think about the fact that these animals died between a few hundred to 2600 years ago – you’ll get it when you look at the pictures.

Enjoy the views!

Canada glacier, Lake Fryxell and Commonwealth glacier

Three more glaciers

Mummified Seal

Not so mummified penguin

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “Still Truckin’”

  1. megalito says :

    I didn’t know seals had teeeeeth!!
    I thought they were nice cuddly creatures that would smile at me under water as they swam by.
    They actually look like they would bite my head off with those fangs….
    I’m crushed. 😦

    • croninkyle says :

      I think its wild that they have fingers and toes in their fins. I think you should be able to enlarge the pic and zoom. Check it out.

  2. Katie W. says :

    I love the pictures of the glaciers, Kyle! What amazing views! Glad to hear that you’re doing well 🙂

  3. mariarose says :

    These photos are amazing for a number of reasons: composition, subject (very old dead seals!!!!), and the fact that you are in Antarctica and I’m not completely sure why but it’s beautiful…

Leave a Reply

