A new year

It’s been over a month since my last post. Since then, I’ve showered and found my way back to my office in Chicago. I have debated whether or not to keep this blog rolling now that I’m no longer in Antarctica. No doubt my springtime adventures will be less exciting, but I have a feeling that the ‘behind-the-scenes’ science might interested some of you.

So I’d love if you kept following the blog, but it’s up to you. The plan for the forthcoming posts is that they will focus on research we do here in the lab, the constant planning for field work, and other minutia that I find interesting (and somehow relates to Antarctica or Earth sciences). Now that I’m in the real world, I’ll try to keep my posts about bikes and my rants about the post office to a minimum.

Today is statutory holiday here in the United States, and it’s also the coldest day of the year. So in keeping with the trend, I offer you a virtual holiday in Antarctica. Over the last year my friends at the Polar Geospatial Center in Minneapolis have been shooting Google Street View images from some of the most beautiful sites around the continent. So check it out! And I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Street View Antarctica

ps. They’re shooting the Dry Valleys as I type, so stay tuned for a trip to my home-away-from-home later this year.

2 responses to “A new year”

  1. Dan Jorgensen says :

    I vote for continuing your blog Hilary. It’s fascinating. The google street view link is awesome! P.S. You’ll be happy to know I managed to pick up the entire Frozen Planet series on dvd ‘;0)

    Dan Jorgensen

  2. MaryBee says :

    These street view photos are amazing -thanks for including the link

Leave a Reply

